The Bhavan has come to be recognized as a symbol of the intellectual, literary, educational, ethical, cultural and spiritual life of India
Read on >>
Founded on 7th November 1938, from small beginnings, the Bhavans has grown into an intellectual, cultural and educational movement.
Here is a brief chronology of events in Bhavans growth.
Read on >>
The blessings of the Godly and Good always inspire Bhavans to reach new goals.
Read some selected opinions about the Bhavan's Activities.
Read on >>
The Bhavan firmly believes that revitalizing ancient values and reintegrating them to suit the changing needs of modern times alone will give people the strength to ......
Read on >>
It is necessary that one should understand it clearly and imbibe them
Read on >>
Jaya Jaya Vidya Bhavan Bharati
Jaya Jaya Vidya Bhavan Hamara
Read on >>
Bhavan believes in Sarva Dharma Samabhava - Equal Respect To All Religion.
Read on >>
In 1938, about a decade before the dawn of Indian Independence, Kulapati Dr. K.M. Munshi, a far-sighted visionary and practical idealist, along with three of his close associates, founded the Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan to preserve and propagate Sanskrit, the mother of languages..
Read on >>

Landmarks in Bhavan's Growth
1965 Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri, Prime Minister of India, lays the foundation-stone of the new building of the Bhavan's Bangalore Centre (January 23).
The Bhavan's Jammu and Kashmir Centre is started (April).
The Bhavan's Mauritius Centre is started.
The Bhavan starts the Ranchhodlal Acharatlal College of Arts & Science at Ahmedabad (June).
Shri Y.B. Chavan, Union Defence Minister, inaugurates the Bhavan's Hazarimal Somani College of Arts & Science at Chowpatty, Bombay (June).
Dr. S. Radhakrishnan, President of India, inaugurates the Bhavan's Andhra Pradesh Centre at Hyderabad (July 8).
Bhavan confers Hon. Membership on Dr. C.P. Ramaswami Aiyer (October 29)  
1966 Introduction of a new category of Bhavan's Associates' to broad-base the membership of the Bhavan. (January)
Dr. S. Radhakrishnan, President of India, dedicates the Bhavan's College of Journalism, Advertising & Printing to the memory of Dr. Rajendra Prasad and renames it as Rajendra Prasad College of Mass Communication and Media (February 10).
Dr. S. Radhakrishnan, President of India, inaugurates the 'Bhavan International', a new department of the Bhavan.
Shri Manubhai Shah, Union Minister for Commerce, renames the Bhavan's Public School, Delhi, as Vallabhram Mehta Public School (March 12).
Dr. S. Radhakrishnan, President of India, is elected as the President of the Sanskrit Vishva Parishad succeeding the late Dr. Rajendra Prasad and presides over the eighth session of the Parishad at Bangalore (May 27).
Kulapati Munshiji opens the Bhavan's Mahila Mandal School at the Bhavan's Campus at Andheri.
Dr. Walter Stutzer, Chairman, Swiss Aid Abroad, lays the foundation-stone of the Bhavan's Dakor Farm buildings at Dakor, Gujarat (November).
Kulapati Munshiji opens the Babulnath Kikabhai Kushal Brahma-Karmodaya Pathashala as a part of the Bhavan's Mumbadevi Sanskrit Mahavidyalaya.
Dr. P.V. Cherian, Governor of Maharashtra inaugurates All India Colloquium on "Ethical and Spiritual values". (December 30)
Dr. P. B. Gajendragadkar, Vice-Chancellor, University of Bombay, confers at the Bhavan's s 20th Convocation the title of Veda Vachaspati on (1) Brahmasri Sripad Damodar Satwalekar, Founder and President, Swadhyaya Mandal, Pardi and (2) Brahmasri Daivarat Sarma, Founder and President, Rishikula Yogashrama, Gokarna (December 24).
1967   Dr. Zakir Husain, Vice President of India, presides over the concluding session of the All- India Colloquium on Ethical and Spiritual values as the Basis of National integration under the joint auspices of the Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Sanskrit Vishva Parishad, Gandhi Smarak Nidhi and Ramakrishna Mission Institute of Culture.(January 2)
Kulapati Munshiji inaugurates the Bhavan's Vallabhram Mehta Public School, Baroda. 
Shri Morarji Desai, Deputy Prime Minister of India, inaugurates the Delhi Unit of the Bhavan's Rajendra Prasad College of Mass Communication and Management (July 13).
Formation of a representative All-India Tri-Decennial Celebration Committee under the presidentship of Dr. S. Radhakrishnan and institution of the Bhavan's Tri-Decennial Fund of Rs. 30 lakhs (October).
1968  Dr. D. S. Kothari inaugurates the All-India University Teachers and Students Camp under the joint auspices of the National Integration Colloquium of the Bhavan and the Bombay University (May 19).
Reorganisation of the Bhavan's R. A. College of Arts & Science, Ahmedabad into two separate Colleges -  one for Arts and the other for Science (December 7).
Dr. Zakir Husain, President of India, inaugurates the Bhavan's Tri-Decennial Celebrations (December 7).
Dr. Zakir Husain, President of India, confers the title of Brahmavidya Bhaskara on Dr. S. Radhakrishnan (December 7).
Bhavan confers Honorary Memberships on Rashtrapati Dr. Zakir Husain, Shri H.V. Divatia and Smt. M.S. Subbulaksmi. (December 17)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17
  Bhavan's Books   Periodicals   Our Websites   Bhavan's (H.O), Mumbai
Online Bookstore
Locate A Store
Book Enquiry
Bhavan's Journal
Bhavan's Navneet
Navneet Samarpan (Gujarati)
Bharatiya Vidya
Astrological Journal
Gandhi Institute Website
Bhavans Kala Kendra
Bharatiya Sangeet & Nartan Shikhsapeeth
Jyotish Bharati
Bhavan's Library
Sanskrit Studies
Forthcoming Events
--: Bhavan - Chowpatty
--: Bhavan - Andheri