| Donate For A Cause | | | | Become A Life Member

The Logo


Bhavan’s Towers,
Kattu Road,
Kerala - 695012.
Phone: 0471-2354600 / 2354700
E-mail: bvbtvm@bsnl.in, bvbtvmkendra@gmail.com, bvbtvpm@gmail.com

The Thiruvananthapuram Kendra of Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, commenced functioning in February 1986, is one of the major Kendras of Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan. It runs the following institutions:
1. Bhavan’s Senior Secondary School, Kodunganoor.
2. Bhavan’s Vivekananda Vidya Mandir Senior Secondary School, Manvila.
3. Bhavan’s Kulapati K.M. Munshi Memorial Vidya Mandir, Poojappura,
4. Bhavan’s College of Communication and Management (a constituent of Rajendra Prasad Institute of Communication and Management, Mumabi) Thiruvananthapuram.
The Kendra in collaboration with Infosys Foundation and Bangalore Kendra Organizes Cultural Outreach programme for supporting rural artists and to revive extinct art forms of Kerala. The Kendra is the nodal centre for implementing the programs since 2012.
As a unique venture the Kendra has been conducting “News for Use”, a general awareness test for Teachers to promote News paper reading habits among teachers and then pass on such information on a regular basis to students. All Kerala Bhavan’s Tests for Bhavan’s Schools have been conducted successfully for 2 years and our attempt to have an all India Test could not succeed due to pandemic.
An ambitious construction activity for providing an Auditorium (1000 capacity) and a Nursery block at BVB Manvila is progressing well. We have a social responsibility fund which supports children from financially poor families.



Summer Sports Camp

The Summer Camp 2021–2022 organised by Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Thiruvananthapuram Kendra was held from April 3 to May 6 under the leadership of Sri S. K. Nair, Vice-Chairman and Former Secretary of BCCI. More than 200 students enthusiastically participated. They were given meticulous practice sessions by seven qualified coaches in football, basketball, athletics, skating and cricket. A committee including the principal, camp director, camp coordinators, teachers, parents and school staff nurse was formed to monitor the activities of the camp. The main highlight of the month-long camp was the involvement of parents.
Motivational sessions were conducted for the students periodically by eminent sports personalities like Miss Sreekala, Indian basketball player, Shri Jose Kurisinkal, former international cricket umpire, Shri V.P. Shaji, former Indian football player and Shri Ramachandran Nair, senior coach. 
A campfire was held before the conclusion of the summer camp where teachers, students and parents relaxed and had a stress-free time. The camp ended with a glittering function during which national chess champion (U–12) Master Gautam Krishna and Kum. Archa P. (silver medalist in skating) were felicitated.

World Environment Day Celebration

World Environment Day was celebrated in the two Higher Secondary Schools under Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Thiruvananthapuram Kendra.
Activities to preserve the school environment were initiated by the members of the Mathrubhumi SEED (Student Empowerment for Environment Development) Club of Bhavan’s School at Manvila on June 6.
Dr. B. Santhosh, Principal Scientist, Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute flagged off the year-long celebrations by planting a sapling in the school premises. He enlightened the children on the immediate necessity of preserving the environment and Mother Earth.
Many programmes including a speech, skit, poem recital and group songs were put up by the children. The celebrations came to an end with everyone pledging to take the initiative of saving the environment and doing their bit for a cleaner and greener Mother Earth. 
Bhavan’s School at Vattiyoorkavu observed World Environment Day by embracing a part of nature itself. The Nature Club of the school in collaboration with Mathrubhumi ‘Seed’ created a butterfly sanctuary in the school campus. The sanctuary was inaugurated by Dr. V. Unnikrishnan Nayar, Vice Chairman of the Kendra by presenting tree saplings to NCC cadets of the school. The venture was implemented to mould a future generation which lives in harmony with nature as well as to create awareness among the young hearts regarding its protection. Teachers and students enthusiastically participated in the programme.

Vidya Thilak Award - 2020

Sunil Chacko, Principal of Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Vattiyoorkavu TVPM was conferred Pravasi Bharathi (Kerala) 'Vidya Thilak' Award - 2020, in connection with 18th National Pravasi Bharathi Divas celebrations, for his outstanding contribution in the field of education.

Swarnim Vijay Mashaal

Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Vattiyoorkavu hosted the 1971 Indo-Pak war golden victory flame - 'Swarnim Vijay Mashaal' - on July 8, 2021.
The 'Swarnim Vijay Mashaal' is travelling in the four cardinal directions of the country and the flame travelling in the southern Cardinal reached Thiruvananthapuram in the first week of July.
A short programme was organised by the NCC Army Wing of Bhavans, Kodunganoor in the Subramaniam Hall of the School where the Victory Flame was received. NCC Kerala Battalion II Cadets of the school presented the guard of honour. During the programme, a film on the "History of Indo - Pak 1971 War" and the decisive role of our Armed Forces in ending the war and gaining victory in the 1971 War was screened.
The Victory Flame was taken to the villages of Param Vir Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra and Vir Chakara awardees of 1971 war. The event helped to recall the valour and sacrifices made by the war heroes of 1971.

Indywood Education Excellence Awards 2021

Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan Senior Secondary School Vattiyoorkavu, Thiruvananthapuram has been declared the winner of the prestigious 'Indywood Education Excellence Awards 2021 -Kerala Chapter' for the category -'Best school for Holistic Development of Students'. The excellence award in the field of education is the first initiative to recognise the efforts of schools, teachers, and administrators across the country that provides quality education in various categories. The former Chief Secretary and lyricist Shri K Jayakumar IAS (Rtd) and MLA and film actor Shri Ganesh Kumar presented the awards.